Shattered Lives

in #poetry7 years ago

Shattered Lives


Memories are all that's left of the love we used to know.
Memories of happier times now seem so long ago.


What started out as friendship grew into so much more.
I fell so deeply in love with you, a feeling like never before.


The days and nights turned into months, and months turned into years.
There was love and laughter, a baby boy, and many happy tears.


Friends and family, cookouts, four-wheeling, and camping--a life filled with joy.
Watching as our infant son grew into a handsome little boy.


Holidays were spent with the ones we loved each year.
Happy kids, lots of laughs, life was perfect with you my dear.


Falling asleep, feeling safe and secure, nights were never lonely.
You, my love, were it for me. Definitely my one and only.


And just like that it was over as I watched you walk out the door.
I felt my world crumble, the life I once knew no more.


Unable to stop what was happening, I watched you spin out of control.
The meth had taken over, and addiction had taken its toll.


The endless days, the sleepless nights, I've cried countless tears.
Waking up each day to face the reality of my own fears.


As I lay here all alone, my spirit completely broken,
A million unanswered questions, a thousand words unspoken.


When did you stop loving me? Exactly when did we fall apart?
No longer us, now you and her, she's holding a piece of my heart.


She was a dirty little secret; you kept her hidden well.
I wondered if she believes all the lies that you tell.


You claimed that I was crazy, there wasn't anyone else, but the truth came out in the end.
A betrayal at its worst; she was once my very best friend.


I never saw this coming; I guess I was just a fool.
So hard to comprehend it all; how could you be so cruel?


The sincerity of your voice, now replaced by hurtful lies.
The man that I once loved, I no longer recognize.


You've chosen the wrong path, and now you've lost your way.
The devil has taken the lead, the ultimate price you've yet to pay.


Don't take anything for granted; it can change in the blink of an eye.
I never thought I'd live without you, never thought we'd say goodbye.


I look at our little boy, so innocent and pure.
I know I have to be strong; this pain I must endure.


Longing for the time when this heartache goes away,
I put my best foot forward and face another day.

12503_pXdCUjRy.jpg

@Shahzaibrafique


DQmNuF3L71zzxAyJB7Lk37yBqjBRo2uafTAudFDLzsoRV5L.gif

Sort:  

understanding some of the reality of love will save you a lot of troubles.
No one can understand love fully. The closet you can get to understand it, is when you become a parent and watch how your love take off on an auto and uncontrolled rocket traveling between the past, present and future, an between your mom/dad, wife/husband and your baby/children. I think you will get to realize that there is some manipulating power behind the veil that is trying to insure the continuation of life no matter what and whether you like it or not. If you are not on this tack you are hiding for troubles.

but i displayed my view as it had many ways to describe all

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shahzaibrafique from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64876.15
ETH 3157.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55