With Every Heavy Step That I Take (Original Poetry)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

leaf-2597122_1920.jpg

With every heavy step that I take
The leaves from last year’s
Shedding of the trees
Crunching underfoot
My footfalls are not heavy
From a measurement of pounds
But from a collection of mistakes
From failure and loss and lack of purpose

With every heavy step that I take
I walk towards and away
Mournful and hopeful
The shadow of death does not
Strike fear like the shadow of myself
People come and people go
Ghosts of my failings stay
To haunt me in my sleep

With every heavy step that I take
I am reminded of her
By a sight, or sound, or smell
It’s a romantic ideal
But not based in any fact
Reminders are there
For those that forget
How can I be reminded of someone
That is never absent from my mind?


Image is courtesy of Pixabay.

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. Find out more at my website

Sort:  

nice one!

Hauntingly beautiful Scott.

Very evocative poem.

Thank you.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you for stopping by. :)

I really enjoyed this. Good work!

Thank you my friend!

Very nice words. They cause some weird thoughts in me that I can not formulate so far but really nice work which leaves an impression :)

I'm glad my words leave an imprint on you. If you ever figure out what those thoughts are I would love to hear them. :)

Outstanding poem! A great story. Thank you for sharing. Followed.

Thank you. I'm glad you like it!

You're welcome. 👍🏼😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55