Things I Should Have Done Long Ago (Original Poetry)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

fog-2056378_1920.jpg

One thing I've always done is give up on my ideas and my dreams
Not with a bang or a fight, but with a whimper
I should have roared like a lion and fought for everything
But I just turned tail and ran, it just always seems simpler.

I've become so damn tired of capitulating
People around me expect it and it's just so frustrating
I'm turning it around and restoring some pride
I'm coming out of the shadows and refusing to hide

And it frustrates me
that others can express the things I'm feeling
much more eloquently
And I fight with all my might
To get the words out to say the things I need to
but I never seem to get it right

I can't hide away, keeping the one I love in the dark
I have to open up and share my life
No more secrets and no more living separately
Can't spend my life walking on the sharp edge of the knife

Going to open up and give everything away
And prove that I can stand up and be a man
To be the strength and security you need
Show you that I really understand

Even if this happens from miles and miles away
I want you to look in my direction and smile my way
Send me a message, tell me that you care
Tell me that you're proud of me today


Images are from Pixabay

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. Find out more at my website or connect with me on Facebook.

Sort:  

Hey, would you be interested in allowing me to post your poem on my account? You will get complete credit for the poem, plus 25% of anything that is made from the post (50% of the SBD). Just reply if you are interested!

Sure. Go for it!

Very nice words my friend ;) Resteemed ;)

Thank you my lovely friend. :)

This is a fantastic poem, following for more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53