Supernaturally Shaken (Original Poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

candle-335965_1920.jpg

The other day I caught the train for a day of work downtown
The carousel rat-race fuckery keeps spinning me around
Got off the train and walked amongst humanity in bunches
Dodging people left and right like Ali dodging punches
I swear I heard you off to my right side asking for directions
I could tell that it was you just from your cadence and inflections
I tried to turn around and head back north to where I heard your voice
But the human wave was pushing south so i went along I had no choice
Thought long and hard about going back once I had broken free
From the shackles of the Bhutan death march commuter misery
You’d be long gone and I’d have no clue about which path you had taken
So I just kept going with the crowd and I was supernaturally shaken

I woke up from a so-called sleep when I heard your footfalls on my floor
I reached for the light like it would save my life then I didn’t hear them anymore
It seems like once again an apparition is testing my resolve
I play the role of Sherlock Holmes but this is one case that I can’t solve
I toss and turn and roll myself up like a mummy in my sheets
If serenity is a victory then mark me down for a defeat
I opened my copy of On the Road, read about Kerouac in California
I complained to Jack about my dreams and he said man I tried to warn ya
Don’t go there man, I don’t know what I need, but it sure isn’t a lecture
I could tell you what my dreams all mean, but it would only be conjecture
That night I never got a wink of sleep, so how could I awaken?
I guess I’ll just lay here again supernaturally shaken

It might seem to some that my behaviour and thought patterns might be risky
My heart is soaked in melancholy and my brain is drenched in whiskey
The days fall off the calendar at a rate that is quite alarming
That you’ve drifted so goddamn far away is more than a bit disarming
But I see you in the grocery store and I see you on the subway
I see you in the coffee shop and I see you on the highway
I see you in my kitchen and I see you on my phone
I see you when I’m with my friends and I see you when I’m alone
I see you in my past and I see you in the now
I don’t see you in my future and that’s the whole point anyhow
I once thought I had a chance but I guess I was mistaken
So I’ll just stumble through the drunken night supernaturally shaken


My name is Scott. I write poetry and other stuff. I'd love it if you followed me.

Sort:  

@sgtechservices I just wanted to swim by and drop off your Power Up vote. Thank you for using @echowhale

Send 0.20 -1.00 steem /and to @echowhale and recieve an Up vote of greater value. Send 1.00 steem/and and receive a power up vote which informs all of the @echowhale team to up vote your content...only original and content with in community guidelines.

@sgtechservices thank you for using @echowhale, it gave me the opportunity to look over your work, and truthfully it is amazing. Great job Im definitly following.

That's very nice of you to say. I appreciate it very much. Thank you!

It is touching and beautifully constructed.

Thank you very much. :)

This makes me sad.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sgtechservices from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55