My Plans for 2018 - A Poetry Tour

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

microphone-2574511_1920.jpg

As some of you know I released my first book of poetry in 2017. I am not far away from releasing book #2 and I wanted to come up with a unique way of celebrating the accomplishment of releasing another book, as well as finding a unique way to spread the word about my work.

I came up with something that I think fits the unique angle that I want, but I have to admit...it might be a little far-fetched. I would like to drive across parts of Canada and the United States and attend open mic poetry readings and read my work for others. To expand on that a little bit, I would also like to document the trip on video and interview some of the more noteworthy poets that I meet on the road.

I'm not a guy that is great at just talking to people out of nowhere, so this trip would not only be a hell of a lot of fun, but it would help me to get out and meet more people and expand my horizons. I'm not unaware of the planning and that would be required for such a trip. I am also not unaware of the expense. I have come up with some ideas to help fund the trip that I will be revealing over the next little while.

highway-2706138_1920.jpg

The first step would be to compile a list of regular poetry readings in various places across Canada and the United States. Once I have found that I could begin to compile a route, an itinerary, and a plan. Finally would come the budget and raising the money for the trip.

It would be an amazing experience to travel and share my poetry with others and let them share their poetry with me. It would also be great to document the trip and share it with my fellow Steemians. This is just a seedling of an idea at this point in time, but I am going to explore the ins and outs of making it a reality.

Stay tuned for any developments!


Images courtesy of Pixabay

My name is Scott. I write poetry and other stuff. I'd love it if you followed me.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sgtechservices from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Ummm...Texas?

I'm sure it would be on my itinerary. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55