Maybe I'm Fine (An Original Poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago


Maybe I’m fine
Maybe I’m fine
Donald Trump on TV
ISIS on my mind
I kinda think that
Maybe I’m fine

Flint Michigan water crisis
Ghomeshi walks away
Keyboard warriors on Twitter
Have nothing good to say
Everyone assumes that they know
Just what is on my mind
I’m starting to think that 
Maybe I’m fine

Migrant turmoil in Europe
Brussels Belgium burns
Missing children everywhere
Some never to return
29 Billion deficit
Garry Shandling dies
I’m starting to think that
Maybe I’m fine

The world is a fucked up place
That’s not up for a debate
Everywhere you look
There’s intolerance and hate
But in my little cocoon in my bedroom
I feel pretty Goddamn safe
Today is kinda gloomy
But tomorrow there’ll be sunshine
I kinda think that
I’m gonna be fine
I kinda think that
I’m gonna be fine 

--

You'll be fine too if you upvote and follow my work.  I would appreciate it. :)

Images from Pixabay.com


Sort:  

Nice piece, @sgtechservices! The world is definitely a crazy place. I often wonder if this is how the world has always been, to some degree? The older I get the more I realize that the only thing that I really have control over is my outlook and perspectives on things, it's not always easy to stay positive though.

The world has always been that way. Social media and the Internet has just allowed people to spread their crap to a wider mass of people. In years gone by you'd get together with your friends at a bar and talk politics, religion, sports etc, and now you go to social media and spread it to a larger audience.

Look at the atrocities committed in the past. I would argue that the world is a much better place than it used to be. You're right though. All we can do is control ourselves. We are most likely not going to change anyone elses mind.

Thanks for the comment @ericvancewalton!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40