Last Chance Town - An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

ghetto-2012259_1280.jpg

I walk down the street and I see the same faces day after day
They don’t even look human, more like a mask made out of clay
I have to touch each one just to see if it is real or a fake
I have to get out of here, I’ve taken all of this that I can take

The wind blows the dust and it swirls like a tornado in the sky
I pull my hat down low just to keep the dust out of my eyes
Walking tall with my chest out, my swagger is nothing more than a lie
The sign said artists wanted, con men and imposters need not apply

The street signs told me I was at the intersection of love and hate
All the people looked bewildered, to which I can surely relate
Wandering the alleys just trying to find their way
You can make it out of here but you have some dues that you’re gonna have to pay

Went to buy a bus ticket, the man said where are you headed my son?
I have no destination in mind, so why don’t you just choose me one
It may seem like I’m a fugitive, a wayward soul on the run
But it’s nothing like that, I just need to be movin on

I looked at my ticket, I was headed for a town called Last Chance
Last chance at fulfilled promises, one last chance at romance
When the music starts playing you better be sure that you dance the dance
You’d better come with a plan, don’t leave it all to circumstance

It seemed like forever but the bus finally got me there
I walked into Last Chance saloon and they made me the Mayor
The pretty bartender said, I don’t know if you’re aware
But the next town on this highway is a little place called Despair

I told her, thank you my dear, but I plan to head in another direction
I’ll make the most of my time here now that I have won the election
I’m just going to sit on this bar stool and take some time for reflection
Before I take another stab at acceptance or rejection

Somehow it came to be that I made Last Chance my home
When you’re with like-minded folk you’re never really alone
I’ll be the Mayor of Last Chance at least until I’m overthrown
Until that day comes you can find me sitting on my throne

It’s really quite a place, if you want to come here you are certainly invited
Don’t judge us on the name, that would be incredibly shortsighted
When you finally get here, our love can be re-ignited
You can wait here with me while your citizenship is expedited

Oh this may seem like a tale of a man just wandering around
But if you look a little deeper it’s about a man who was lost and then found
It’s not a story full of nonsense, it’s actually quite profound
It’s about a man who found peace and acceptance in Last Chance town


Thank you to Pixabay for the images. All work is original by me. Follow me for more. I always follow back.

Sort:  

I like your poem! Describes nowadays` society very well, good job!

Thank you very much. :)

Great poem @sgtechservices! I really like it, nice style.

Thank you. I appreciate that. :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.30 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

That's a dynamic peom ! Go on with your bad self !

Really incredible work, Scott!

Thanks Eric. I missed this the first time around!

Thanks my friend. :)

Scott as usual you did a fantastic job of creating a thought provoking rhyme.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97