Have You Read My Book? (Original Poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

people-2565194_1920.jpg

Have you read my book?
Did you have a look
Long enough to see
That you’re in every word I’ve ever written?
You’re in the lonely words
And the joyful words
And the desperate words
You’re in the words that end up crumpled on my goddamn floor
You’re in the words that I won’t write for another hundred years

I want to be in
Your every waking thought
Though I will settle for a moment
Then I am gone
From your mind in a trice
Burning like rocket fuel at liftoff
Then drifting into a waft and a whisper
We all end up there at some point
I just never conceived in my mind that it would happen so soon.

I want my fingers on your pulse
To feel the bump bump bump
I want to hear your heart
Even though my own pulse is withering
Even though you are a hundred miles away
I want to trace your veins with my fingertips
As your blood flows through your body
Even though I’ve had a second chance
I will ask for a third
I’m sure that I’ll get it even if I don’t deserve it. That’s how this works

So have you? Have you read my book?
Is it on your shelf
Gathering dust, forgotten?
Or is it on your bedside table
Opened to your favourite poem?
You’re still in every word
You haunt every page
Run your fingers over the words
See the ink on your fingertips. Let me seep back inside of you


My name is Scott. I write poetry and other stuff. I'd love it if you followed me.

Sort:  

Beautiful!!!!!!🌼💗🍀

Books help to grow. But in truthfulness, i have not read your book. Have you published any before?

intresting poetry. good job you has natural poetic skills."Have you read my book" nice title of your poetry. i appreciated you.

I enjoyed this, @sgtechservices As a fellow poet, susceptible to obsession, I identified with it, too.

Here's a poetry/prose hybrid, where I trace similar territory...
https://steemit.com/fiction/@yahialababidi/rhino-writing-contest-3-her-unutterable-name

I hope it keeps you good company, Yahia

Thank you. I will check out your work and give you a follow. :)

wow. Scott you sure can do poetry. nice words got me meditating. thanks for sharing

Thank you for reading!

Welcome as always and do find time to check my posts and garnish it with your poetic touch😋

Nice, great concept.

Really wonderful, man! Merry Christmas to you and your family!

You too my friend!

💗 Deep and passionate, loved the poem, you're a fine wordsmith. Upvoted it. 💗

Keep on steeming.

Thank you. I appreciate your comment. :)

So much love <3 Thank you for sharing your great pieces of poetry with us <3

Thank you so much for reading and being so supportive. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65633.94
ETH 2670.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90