Good Morning, Good Morning - An Original Poem

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

He slipped out from under the covers
Tiptoed quietly from the room
Went to the kitchen to make some coffee
He knew that she would wake up soon
He sat restlessly at the table
Watching the minutes tick away
Waiting for her to wake up
So that he could see her pretty face

But his impatience overwhelmed him
He just could not wait
He went back to the bedroom
So that he could see his babe
He looked down upon her
As she was sleeping in his bed
She had the covers pulled up
Tight against to her chest

She opened up her bleary eyes
And she looked up at him
Shading her eyes against
The crack of sunlight shining in
He smiled at her and he said
Good Morning, I hope you slept quite well
Yes that’s fresh brewed coffee...
And breakfast that you smell

They went out to the dining room
And broke their fast together
He knew at that moment
That he could stay here forever
He sat there in silence
There was no need for any words
Just basking in the glory of
Being able to look at her

Good morning, Good morning
Time is such sweet sorrow
I want this day to last forever
But I can’t wait until tomorrow
Good morning babe, good morning
Everything feels alright
‘Cause I know that you’ll be with me
When I go to sleep tonight


I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. I always follow back. :)

Find more at scott-gardiner.com

Sort:  

Nice poem, very reflective of the intimate moments we can share with our loved one or life partner. It is the smallest snippets of time that we can reflect back on with much loving admiration and cherish reliving them as we create newer experiences as we age and grow day and night. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted

Thanks my friend for the very thoughtful comment. I appreciate it!

you're very welcome

for me its more like good evening good evening :) sweet poetry !

This is the sweetest one you have ever written.

'Time is such sweet sorrow' most definitely. Awesomeness!

Thanks my friend!

Awe ! This is my favorite ! Thanks for shareing !💙💙💙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59264.94
ETH 2604.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38