Falls - (An Original Poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago


She drums down hard and constant. Roar.
Percussion in your head long after you've been near.
Mist crystals freezes on skin whipped by the wind.
Damn it's cold, it hurts, yet I stand and watch. Awestruck.
Is there that much water in the world,
that she can thunder down without rest for centuries?
Sometimes it gets so cold that she freezes over.
But not often can the elements win against her relentlessness.
She has presided over battles in 1812 and watched men die.
Watched daredevils test her and be battered like insects.
People with nowhere else to turn use her to end it all.
Beautiful, terrible, forgiving, merciless she is.
And so many other adjectives can do no justice to her might.
Long before we polluted the world, and long after
we have turned to dust, she will be there.
Thundering.

--

Thank you to Pixabay for the image.




I am Scott.  I love writing poetry and song lyrics and I one day hope to turn my lyrics into music.  Please upvote and follow.  I always follow back. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37