Dishonourable Christ (An Original Poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

cross-1979473_1920.jpg

Of all the words spoken
And thoughts that race through my head
The pressure that I place upon my battered self
Could turn coal into a diamond
The stark reminder
That hits me like a heavyweight boxer’s right hook
That shatters my bones
And scrambles my brain
Look at my skin and see it bruised
See the welts raise and rear their ugly head
When I look through the dirty glass
And clear away the grease and grime and grit
Oh God but the worst realization
That a man can come to about himself
Is that he has failed to live up to what he could be
And he is flawed and he is weak
Disappointment is a heavy burden
A heavy cross to bear
A cross that I am nailed to like a dishonourable Christ figure
I have time to pull the nails from my hands and feet
And I can redeem myself in my own eyes and yours
But the longer that I wait, the more blood I shed


Images are courtesy of Pixabay.

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. Find out more at my website

Sort:  

Great poem as usual Scott.

Thank you. Have 6 cents.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55