Broken Glass and Butterflies (Original Poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

glass-1818065_1920.jpg

And throughout the year
the words that I have written on the page
I have toiled in my usual mercurial fashion
Always leaning to the dark
Today I shall take the opposite tack
And salute that which brings me joy
That which brings me comfort
That which brings me pleasure

I salute
Broken glass to which there’s an art
In the way that it shatters
A butterfly fluttering drunkenly In the wind
Me and a shot of whiskey going down smoothly
Though not necessarily in that order
Hard liquor and soft skin
Men being men and the good ones never feeling shame
Women being women and allowing me to dream

TV shows that I have watched 1000 times
Because they bring me comfort
Drunk singing Desolation Row for the 100th time
And nailing every word and every line
Knowing that she’s into you
The lush green football pitch
The frozen white hockey rink
Discovering my own truth which I’ll salute when it happens
Writing a poem that you want to read again and again

My son saying “Hi Daddy” when he walks in the door
Hot coffee in the morning and cold beer at night
Dead terrorists and living legends
Knowing that melancholy is a step up from sadness
Waking up in the middle of the night
And knowing that you have a few more hours to sleep
Turning the alarm off on the weekend
Pulling on a pair of jeans fresh out of the dryer
Solitude and companionship

Though this is just a brief list
Of the things that bring me joy
I feel that I needed to balance out the scales
For what goes down must come back up
So here’s to everything in the list above
And everything that didn’t make it
Maybe I’ll write part 2 someday
Stay tuned...


Image courtesy of pixabay.com

My name is Scott. I write poetry and other stuff. I'd love it if you followed me.

Sort:  

This is one of my favorites that you've posted.

I like that whiskey going down smoothly, an ember encased in glass.

Superb stuff.

Thanks a lot! :)

i like these two lines
"Men being men and the good ones never feeling shame
Women being women and allowing me to dream"
wowww

Glad to read your praise poem, @sgtechservices There is so much to be grateful for and, in my experience, when we recognize/name big and small blessings (as you've done, here) our good fortune increases...

"There is a crack in everything/ that's how the Light gets in"

  • Leonard Cohen

Very percussive poetry, yes it has to go up, lol.
I will stay tuned for part two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55