Drastic (an original poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

Quick, get up and do something
Hungry bellies demand a solution
Hear them gurgle, full of nothing
The sad sound of destitution

We have nothing to give, nothing to make
Our skills have faded away
It's a young mans game, and I am just a fake
I have nothing saved for today

It's the winter of our discontent!
It's a time of thin and the time of lean
In plentiful times, I let ferment
The curd, the green, and the bean..

Why did I not consider this fate?
I wonder aloud to my hungry family
Should I now a kidney to ablate
To avoid that coming calamity?

We're starving, and empty is our coffer
We're falling through the cracks
But we still have something to offer
Perhaps its time to tax

We'll see that times aren't drastic
We're the government, we're here to help
We will hide away, we'll be monastic
We'll tax them all, and listen to them yelp

Money for a hall, money for a wall
Blood from turnips, nay from stones
Don't try to resist, it's for the good of all
If you complain, we'll grind your very bones

Dust to dust, and on your belly you will go
Forever condemned to hunger
This I'm sure you know
Never, never forget your original blunder

It is for this reason I must rule
It's a drastic solution, sure
But your despair is the perfect fuel
The draw of currency, my best lure

You're all holograms now, you're in my matrix
The control paradigm within
You don't even know the basics
Let me tell you, now, let's begin

I write fire into ice
I fuck with the angels
I never roll craps on the dice
I know this might seem painful

I am the spirit of resistance
I am the drastic one
You can't go the distance
In body made of plastic, son

The age of bling was cute
I kinda thought it funny
The reality was brute
We just pretended we had money

Now it's desperation, now it's all collapsed
And its time to face the music
Headed toward a timely relapse
Onward marching, life is just illusions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.93
ETH 2465.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63