Poetry Slam Challenge 6: Lucid Addiction

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

I wrote this poem for the #poetryslamchallenge hosted by @prufarchy. This is a free verse styled poem.

Lucid Addiction

From lucidity to bed dress,
I find I am calm and at rest,
I do not wish to leave this place,
instead I wish to dream in space.

Faint light glows periodically like a test,
yet I think of sleep and feel bereft,
oh, how easily I could fall back under,
to return to magical wonder.

Fairly certain I'm at my best,
as these curtains shield my nest,
I contemplate reason not to leave,
staying trapped among the cotton weave.

Hard pressed to trace an ounce of stress,
despite real life being graced by mess,
oh, what I would give to live under my head rest,
'cause lucidly I conceive the most wondrous quests.


If you would like to submit a poem yourself for this weeks #poetryslamchallenge, you can view the original details here


This post was inspired by my constant struggle to get out of bed in the morning. I dream lucidly and it's addictive. I have found myself sleeping away whole days just because I wanted to continue living a fantasy. It is fun but extremely addictive.

I thought it was normal as a child until I realized later in life that only few people can do it. I believe it's my imagination that does it, but there could be other forces at play, who knows... Either way it's a plague. If you experience the same kind of imagery when you're sleeping and the interactions within then please comment below. I'd love to hear about other people's experiences.

Thank you for reading.


Thomas Te Aroha Kohi | Entrepreneur

Sort:  

Awesome poem and finishing line. I can relate man I have been having this same awesome challenge as well lately, especially with autumn coolness and warmth of my blanket haha, cheers!

Thanks @allgoodthings, it's getting to the point where it feels like an affliction. I wish it were just the blankets that kept me but it's unfortunately a whole other addiction entirely. Being able to travel between different realities at will is euphoric, like a drug.

Yeah I don't have it down that well but feel I would have a deeper challenge waking if I did, respect to you for getting there. Perhaps you can find divine inspiration there for creating and bring it with you here?

Keep trying. Having a calm mind helps.

Fortunately I've always been able too. I know of no other way to dream.

Haha I already try too ;)

I will keep trying just got a dream diary too... Awesome :)

Now that is something I should invest in. Thanks for the idea!

Thoroughly enjoyed this poem. I've never been able to lucid dream no matter how hard I try. God makes me live every dream as if it were real and happening. Dreams where I've faced danger or death or other, I have no control over my own fate. I'm just blown like a scrunched, dry leaf in a gust of cold wind hitting floors and walls as I scatter along through the dream's storyline. Best of luck to your poem entry. Upvoted

As always, thank you for your insight @verbal-d!

And I thank you for providing the inspiration. Please keep progressing :)

I enjoyed your poem and I am curious to learn more about lucid dreaming, do you try to do it or does it happen no matter what you do?

For me it comes naturally but I have heard that there are ways to induce the same kind of dreaming. I've heard that meditation can help you get there by putting you in a place between sleeping and being awake. You would have to look it up.

I have always tried to dream lucidly but have only managed middling success. I always forget what I'm doing right before I drift away, but at least I remember almost all of them at this point. Great poem, thanks for your entry and congrats on being a badass dreamer ;)

"congrats on being a badass dreamer" - Ha! That gave me a good giggle.

Thank you @prufarchy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30