The Contract

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image
Image credit: thehypertexts.com


You say your arms are open, that I may come,
To feel your embrace; nice and warm,
You say I should drop all, and then follow,
That you'll reach out, and change my tomorrow...

You say I should cease to depend on man,
Drop my worries, and embrace your master plan,
You say upon you, I should fix my gaze,
Go make amends, and then act in your ways...

Well, my heart is heavy and I admit my guilt,
I'll seek forgiveness, and pray you take away the filth,
But Lord, just as I accept this offer of yours,
Permit me the freedom, to add one tiny clause...

An understanding that I ply the 'human' lane...
And that being said, Lord I may sin again....


Dedicated to a true friend.... Yinnie A.


Composed for @rumplestiltskin's killerpoetry contest round 21 (link below)

https://steemit.com/killerpoetry/@rumplestiltskin/rumplestiltskin-s-killer-poetry-contest-round-21


Yours,
SladenSpeaks...
image

Sort:  

I like your poem😊

Thanks, I appreciate 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72