I am Nigeria...

in #poetry6 years ago

About a month or two ago, I had a rare feeling of patriotism. Not that I'm no patriot on a normal day, but this was quite different. If you have lived in Nigeria, you would understand.

Anyway, I got to writing a bit that day, and this was the result...

PhotoGrid_1519515664469.jpg

I am Nigeria,
Where Ali and Simbi goes to school,
And Ijapa reigns over our moonlight stories,
Where Gandoki lives a truly charmed life,
And where things never really fall apart...

Home of Afang, Tuwo, and Ewedu,
Where Biripo has handed power to Shaku-Shaku,
Everywhere you go, I Glow with pride,
I am Nigeria; Abibas is Adidas, it's just my Aba side...

I am home to Onyeka Onwenu and Yemi Alade,
Where the horse, the man, and his son made Ebenezer Obey,
I am Nigeria, green and white,
Here, honour is given every first of October,
And if the south serves two terms, trust that the north remembers...

So whoever you are, wherever you are,
Kedu, Sannu, Bawo ni,
Here is my heritage, here is who I am,
I am Nigeria, your Nigeria...

#SladenSpeaks


Ijapa: Tortoise
Afang, Tuwo, Ewedu: Native Nigerian soups
Biripo, Shaku-Shaku: Dance patterns (Old and New respectively)
Kedu, Sannu, Bawo ni: Basic greetings in the three major ethnic groups in Nigeria (Igbo, Hausa, and Yoruba respectively)


Sort:  

Finding talented people on steemit always pleases me. Today I am blessed to find your work.
Thanks.

I am honoured, thank you. 😊

Ok its nice so i will add this

Im a nigerian
Where we have set of clowns as leaders
God bless NIGeria

And where things never really fall apart

I really like this line, it reminds me of TS Elliot "things fall apart" - is that what you were leaning to or do I just see what I see?

I didn't read that of Elliot. But I read that of Chinua Achebe. I don't know if they're similar, but yes I was kind of ironically referencing the latter.

😌

That's cool. Would you recommend that trilogy of books? I looked Chinua Achebe up and there are three books, Things Fall Apart, No Longer at Ease, and Arrow of God according to the wiki. It looks like good reading.

I would recommend it...

Though the first one (things fall apart) sets such a standard that you may feel a little bit cheated when you read No Longer at Ease.
😊
Makes for a Good read though

I will add it to my kindle. Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59