Weekly Poetry Jam - Fighting For Me (Original Poetry)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Here is this week's poetry jam, maybe some people can relate.

Fighting For Me

My crazy tendencies to harp on the bad

My focus on the one or two things I dislike

As opposed to the dozens of things I adore

I get stuck on a couple of points forevermore

Impeding happiness like it’s my job

I’m a good man that deep down is good to you

So why do these deep rooted issues try to make it come unglued

True happiness can be found for me, I know this must be true

I need someone that will weed through the bullshit

Someone to stay in the game long enough to see if happiness is me and you


Regards,
Mitchell J

Thanks pixabay for the photo

Sort:  

Nice photo.

Whats the story behind this poem? Im interested to know, if you dont mine.

Something I wrote some years ago to vent frustration with myself. Had a bad habit of nitpicking and focusing on items I did not like rather than focusing on the things I did like. Not a recipe of relationship success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53