Runaway Rhymes No.4: Rainbows in my Hair

in #poetry7 years ago

The fiddler was playing and the feet oh they stamped

Dancing and singing carried to the edge of the camp

I cared not for that, but for the fire in my blood

As I lay half naked on him, I could hear our hearts thud

Oh he promised me the sky and the stars overhead

Oh he promised me anything to get me to bed

And when the sun it did rise and we went for it again

I remembered the promises of many such men

Oh, the things that they say and the things that they do

When they get what they want do they follow it through?

I have a feeling that this one he might truly care

As he lies here and tells me of the rainbows in my hair

Sort:  

Truly marvelous. So many feelings and endless colors. I love it.

Thank you, it's all thanks to @hopehuggs fantastic contest subject :-)

the contest subject is just awesome! :)

Lovely @sazbird....

This poem really says it all.

Thank you very much @bleujay. That means a lot.

Rainbows in my hair

Oh that's a great line!

Originally I had rainbow elsewhere in it and the last line was about the stars in the sky. It was much better this way. Happy that you liked it!

I thought the same way. :)

@sazbird These beautiful words. I liked

Hey, thank you. I am glad that you liked and took time to comment :-)

Oh fantastic. Read it as you suggested. Thank you for such a marvellous entry.

You are most welcome. I am so glad to enter this and its great to see you back on! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60562.69
ETH 2903.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34