I don't want anything for Fathers Day

in #poetry6 years ago

"What do you want for Fathers Day".
My wife lovingly asks me over the last few weeks.
To which my usual reply is...
"Nothing"...
"Maybe some airbrush paint or something"...
"I don't know".

I am not much of a gifts person anyways.
She knows that, I know that.
"What do you want to do?" ... again my answer being
"Nothing, I don't care".

I don't want anything for Fathers Day

It's a lie. It's all a lie.
I love Fathers Day.
I genuinely believe in the day.
Fathers are underappreciated, and I think it is a great opportunity to honor them.
But it is irrelevant now.
I don't want to be honored today, my kids and my wife do a great job at that every day.
I want to celebrate my fathers.
I can't now.
Well I can.
but its not the same.
He's gone, and sometimes It doesn't feel any easier since the day he was taken from us.
This day is so bittersweet.
My children are so kind to show me love.
But I want to be alone to grieve.
I don't want to be celebrated.
I can't participate. Not today

It's a lie.
I do want something.
I want my dad.
I want to show him the present I painstakingly made him as mine do for me.
I want to show him I care.
I want to make him laugh.
God I miss your laugh dad.
I want to hear him say "I'm proud of you son"
one more time

But I can't

I don't want anything for Fathers Day.

Sort:  

:'( ... Father's day and mother's day are both just so rough on those who don't have those people any more. No matter what you do or where you go, everyone is talking about it. Businesses trying to sell you things with it, special events all over the place, radio announcements, television advertisements... can't get away.

Dude, it's all still so fresh in your mind. I have no words. I can't say this or that since I don't know what your relationship was like.

I haven't spoken to my dad in... probably like 2 years now but that is a topic for another day.

All I can think of is that you're grateful for what you had yet feel as if its been taken away too soon, unfairly so... Strength to you my friend.

Perhaps you can do something to honor him.

Dang you made me tear up here. This is beautiful and sad. Much love - Carl

I think that regardless of the experiences we have gone through in life, any time we can share with our loved ones should not be wasted. Life goes very fast and the only thing that remains after one leaves this world, are the moments shared with the people closest to our lives such as the couple and the children.

that is pretty cool. thanks for posting it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50