Treading Water

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)


image source

Once again
The anchor has been thrown
pulling me down
Sinking again
Oh but not all the way
You keep me inflated
Just enough to keep you afloat
talking in circles
facilitating your control
A closed loop
No escape
But I hear my own voice
You can not convince me otherwise
Quietly talking to myself
Beyond the reaches of your web
I am stronger than you realize
I will not cease to exist

Sort:  

You are really strong and expressive! I relate to this experience! It's difficult to love a narcissist, they will convince you you are the crazy one. I always talked to myself also and I still do!

Thank you! After being rained down on for hours sometimes the only way to escape the insanity is to retreat inside.

Truth!

Freaking amazing. Do you know there is a monthly poetry reading at the library? People would love your poems.

Thank you @eblison! I don't think I'm quite ready for a reading 😂

wow, this is really well written

Thank You 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59511.68
ETH 2613.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39