Ups and downs

in #poetry6 years ago

Up and down the pathway goes
Climbing up going down
Looking out for fertile ground
Just to feed my hungry lambs
Going up going down.

I went to school to earn a key
Just to know it doesn't work
Now to farm to earn a living
Fulanis are there on the road
I stayed at home the people say
Come and see a useless man
Going up going down.

Back to school for yet another key
Since I thought its my only chance
I felt alone in my struggle-lane
Returning with a new key gave me joy
Until I was told there's no place for me
How is it that many without the key
Always swimming in the pool within
Even when my key is doubled,
Yet they say there's no place for me.

Now I have to put the key aside
To open the door the key cannot
Then they came one by one
Asking how it was done
I told them the key is fake
Earning it will not open the lock
The knowledge it gives is the trick

Then I remembered my father's song
Life is full of ups and downs
Be true to make a timely effort
Hard work will never fails
If you continue in the ups and downs
Sky will only be your limit
Going up up up.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94