As my little darling sleeps...

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Oh, my little one... you are asleep
and you are far away in the dreamland of fairies and sheep
I gaze fondly at your darling face
thinking of how you pushed me away today
and once again make my promise to you, come what may
You are my child, my creation, my meaning in life
I always want you in my plain sight
because I love you fiercely with all my might

One day, you'll grow up and be gone
Away to fly and explore the world close by and beyond
Our home may then feel like but a small drop in the ocean
And you might want to swim further and further away

I won't stop you then, my little sweetheart
I will be a good mother
I will be a good friend
but do pay attention when I first teach you to swim today,
please don't just yet push me away!

Sort:  

Beautiful Post @sandzat
... reminds me of my beautiful daughter. She's two years old and i love her so much.

Thank you @mcekworo! Aah... age two... your little one must be a sweetheart!
My daughter's seven now and growing up fast... me too! :)

surprising that you got more steem than the author!!!

Thanks for your comment! :)

This post has received a 0.62 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sandzat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63