Poet Bharathiyar's Nallathor Veenai Seithe

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Subramanya Bharathi is one of India's renowned nationalist poets. His poetic style is known for its poignancy and simplicity. His writings continue to have great influence in the Tamil soil.

Subramanya_Bharathi-01.jpeg

This poem "Nallathor Veenai Seithe" is considered as one of his classics, and has found its way into popular Tamil culture through films and music. In this poem, the poet Bharathi prays to his deity, Shiva Shakthi, to grant him a few wishes.

Nallathor veenai seithe –adhai,
nalam keda puzhuthiyil yerivathundo?

solladi Shiva Shakthi , yenai
sudar migum arivudan padaithu vittay.

vallamai thaarayo? indha,
maanilam payunura vazhvadakke.
solladi ShivaShakthi –nila
sumaiyena Vazhnthida puriguvayo?

visayuru panthinai pol –ullam,
vendiya padi sellum udal kaetten,
nasayaru manam kaetten, nitham navamena,
sudar tharum uyir kaetten.

dasayinai thee sudinum –Shiva
Sakthiyai padum nal agam kaetten,
asaivaru mathi kaetten, ivai,
arulvathil unakkaetum thadai ulatho?

No translation can do complete justice to his verses, but here goes:

After making a good Veenai, will its goodness be wasted, burnt into dust?

Tell me, Sivasakthi?
You've created me with a fiery intellect.

Will you bestow me the strength to live a life of purpose to this vast land?

Tell me, Sivasakthi?
Will you make this life just another burden on land?

I plead for a body which heeds to the wishes of the heart, like a twirling ball.

I plead for a heart free of narrow concerns.
I plead for a life which emanates light every day, like a bright gem.

I plead for a good soul which sings the praise of Sivasakthi, even if fire consumes this flesh.

I plead for an unwavering mind.
Is anything stopping you from granting me these wishes?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42