WINTER IN THE TROPICS - [Day 2]

in #poetry7 years ago

"Winter in the tropics"

Source: unsplash.com

Perhaps, slowly,
as the journey away from grief,
we should begin to reverse our tears
to build
here in these wintered tropics
the igloo of the Eskimos
since the sun’s smiles are eclipsed,
knowing the futility
of the corpe’s fear of the grave;
knowing, too, that out of the grave
of the buried seed
shoots the evergreen tree.

Perhaps, slowly,
like the elephant’s unhurried procreation
we should begin to weave
these discordant wailings into symphony,
these steel times into harmony
to forge the hearth’s tripod stand
to thaw our tropics
for the morrow.

When I read the dungeon-brewed masterpieces
and sip with ears the witful
jeremaids at drinking parlours;

when I see the bare-footed Socrates
standing in shelves, an immortal;

when I contemplate the hunger-drilled
depth of my people;

when I think of every winter
sparking a fire,
I see our every tear
becoming a cheer;
I see the sun returning
from the East hills
to warm our clime.

Perhaps, slowly,
as the journey away from grief
we should begin to reverse our tears.


Source: unsplash.com

Truly yours,
@samueloption.

Click to join steemitschool discord channel: https://discord.gg/z2Subxs

[Reading note - Advanced]

[Image source: unsplash.com]

Sort:  

Great poem, I loved how you contrasted the winter in the northern world with that of the Southern sunny world. I also liked how this related to the reversal of tears, which repeated, and made the poem into a complete circle. 😎

A very good poem, enjoyed reading that!

"since the sun’s smiles are eclipsed,
knowing the futility
of the corpe’s fear of the grave"

Great lines those!

Thank you very much @madevi

Very nice work my friend! I can see you going very far in this challenge. Lots of progression ahead for us all I am sure!

I especially like these lines -

knowing, too, that out of the grave
of the buried seed
shoots the evergreen tree.

Out of destruction always comes creation...

It's important to remember that!

Keep up the great work :)

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Thank you so very much @hartfloe.

I sure would always remember that.

I am glad, thanks for reading :) Keep in touch my friend! I will be sure to :)

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

I'm already in touch, bro

I'm glad my friend... let's stay that way :D

Keep up the great work man

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

@samueloption,

This poem was very written. Hopeful. Inspirational. I really liked it.

Thank you @quillfire.
Your comments are my streams of inspiration.

Thank you @quillfire.
Your comments are my streams of inspiration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66882.49
ETH 2597.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71