Growing into Womanhood

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Dedicated to the course of feminism
girl-486950__480.jpg

Mother called me ñne
Cuddled with love her voice said my name
She taught me me a thing or two when I was six or five
Lessons that saturated my heart since when she was alive
She held my hands as if to squeeze them
Looked into my eyes saying with a rhythmical anthem
'Soon you'll too will be a woman
But don't be afraid it only proves you are human'

Growing and living hasn't been the same
Growing with so much changes it caused mayhem
I stood and looked at the mirror for my soul
But only saw a figure so robust and bold
I've changed so fast I hardly recognize myself
Memories of childhood so fray I try to save
Mother what's happening to me?
Why is the red moon rising on me?

girl-470568__480.jpg

Mother, I too long to be called mother
The pains and toils I wouldn't bother
You've taught me the path of earthly struggles
Why then should I fear for childbirth hurdles?
You said I should be wary of the beings in trousers
The ones that their hearts carry mischiefs but are called sirs
The ones that their lips speak not their minds
The ones that their touch can bring cries

woman-3086368__480.jpg

Mother , so far I've been sitting on your advice
So far I've lived on men's lies
So far I've been naive
But now I promise no more but's or if's
I will one day make you proud, mami
As the woman you raised me to be
To be the right hand of a handsome stud
And the smile bringer to the children's heart

Photo source: pixabay.com

This poem was inspired by a piece from @betterbeing titled "woman" and is written in fulfillment of a promise made to her.....

This poem is also dedicated to all female steemians especially @betterbeing

Follow @sammynathaniels for more poetic masterpiece

Sort:  

"Your cologne lasted on my bare memory
Lost sense of things you used to do
I miss your queries and the lot
Now am lonely as a bear
Wild as a wolf

Listen to my voice mother
I will become more of what you taught me to be
Just like from the eastern skies, I'll rise"

Nice poem.

Write on @sammynathaniels

There is a lot of emotion and power behind this poem. You are telling your own story of growing up, but including different emotions from different periods of life. One of the parts I really liked is the following:

I stood and looked at the mirror for my soul
But only saw a figure so robust and bold

I will be looking forward to reading more from you :)

Loved this poem ... And the message it conveys . I am proud that you are now a member of Steemit Poets United. Welcome !!! Your piece was included in our Daily Dose.

Thank you @angelveselinov . I'm happy to be in steemit poets united

Great poem! And everything that @poetrybyjeremy said too... Welcome to #poetsunited, another good addition :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56