A Reason to Smile

in #poetry6 years ago

I hear the pain in your speech
Four glasses in and the music begins to float through the air
I know the hardest part was caring for a child that you knew wouldn’t make it
And doing most of everything without support there
That pain doesn’t go away
Nor does it fade
At times, you remember everything like it was yesterday
Wish I could make it easier for you but I know life isn’t always a smooth ride
How do you expect someone to do right by every corner who’s been abandoned with the weight of the world on their shoulder?
And you give and give, and people take and take
I’ve learned at a young age to take each person as an individual
Yet I’ve watched you, the old compassionate soul that you are, take everyone as an angel from god
I pray my son will bring purpose back into your life
A reason to smile
Dad’s been gone for a while now, and I think a touch of innocence will travel a long way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48