Transformation

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

nothinghappens.jpeg

During the course of my life I have had the opportunity to interact with people who seemed to make it their life purpose to stand in my way. No matter what I tried to do I could not convince them of my value, worth and skills. Whether I worked harder at my job, tried harder in relationships, compromised more or just gave in, they were there, blocking me. I know now that all along I had two choices with these people, to keep pushing (which is what I did) or to allow a transformation in me to occur. Because transformation was their gift to me.

Whether at work or in my personal life I have had contact with people who I felt would not value, honor or respect me. It didn’t matter what I did, they could or would not ‘get’ or ‘see’ me. I thought that they presented me with a challenge to work harder to prove myself but I have recently discovered that they are really only there to help me learn to make other choices.

Perhaps it’s to find another job, career path, relationship or place to live. Maybe they are there to remind me that I have skills and gifts that I have yet to acknowledge. But one thing they are not there for is to change their opinion.

Transformational people teach us lessons about change that needs to occur in our life by forcing it upon us, sometimes gently, sometimes with a great deal of pressure.

The more resistant I am to change, the more I fear it, the more I have been blessed with powerful people who refuse to allow me to continue on my current path of victimization, persecution and rescuing behavior. It has been very frustrating as long as I have only been asking the question ‘what is wrong with them or with me.’ The real question in these situations is instead ‘what do I need to do differently.’

I have realized that when I allow myself to live through transformation I can welcome change knowing that it is by being open to unlimited opportunities that I am graced with these people. Life is supposed to flow effortlessly, so if something is standing in my way it is probably not there to challenge my value or worth. Instead, I believe it is asking me to accept transformation. If I let go and allow the change to occur, without fear, the transformational people have done their job and can move on. And so can I.

Thank You to all the Transformational People in my life! I Love, Honor, Respect and have Tremendous Gratitude for your passage through my heart!

Thank You for pushing me!

Sort:  

Well said, Salka.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66