The Steel Artichoke

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

In the square they point me out:
There she goes, they say, it's the artichoke lady.
They think I got that name because I dress in green
and wear my love locks all a-tangle,
letting them trail like ivy down my back.
Foolish boys.

artich

My heart was an oyster, brating in its cloistered bed of joy;
it held a pearl, a perfect opalescent speck within the sea.
A cortex came, and pluck from depths no man
has seen, my Aztec heart carving it into a steaming stew.
The mist rose from the desert and in the sand a helmet lay,
spoils of war.
Now my heart is an artichoke, clothed in steel.

Image
@originalworks

We win together - Steem Schools https://discord.gg/FzFCZyp
steemschool

Sort:  

HAH!!
This is an awesome selection of mental images.
I don't know about a storytelling inside of a poem, but I am taking out all the words, this is so cool.
also bookmarked

Thanks for taking time to read through

Seriously i had to read twice to decode the theme of the poem, this is just too cool, nice one.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by saintopic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56