POEM: THROWAWAY

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4125.JPG

Throwaway I.

In everything, she threw me away

She swung me into her house
And goblins came by day
I fought in bouts
A fist feast ballet

As a host, she chewed me up
Flinging my hidden flaws
From floor to floor
My inner wardrobe
Was covered in bruises

On our trip, she ran me over
And betrayed our mileage
Which I assumed was insurance
For a safe passage

While I slept, she stole the dreams
My busy mind earned
Now I could not have a retreat
While my skin blackened

My color was consumed
My hope stirred in her belly
Yet there was room


Throwaway II.

If we are so flammable,
With hate striking a blaze,
Then what part of us comes back
Out of melted maze?

If we can be insulted,
With word whips,
How do we rekindle courage candles?
Emerge in air sips?

We tarnished silver souls
Banish our dross
And reveal immortal images

We, although human, still live
In death, still breathe
In billows, still reign
In darkness, still shine,
In a timeless fashion


Throwaway III.

Is it our time to die?
Is it our time to suffer?
Is it our time to season?
Is it our time to buff?

Is it our metallic minds,
Hammer memories,
Synapse chimes,
That revives us?

Is it our Helmholtz hearts,
Never catching slow increases,
In sonic stress releases,
That ignore elevated environs?


Throwaway IV.

We are rare
Because we are passed by

We, along with our labors,
Seem dead and trodden

Our sapphire souls
Rise from the dawn

Shedding the us left
In a dusk snare
As we
Transparently share our eyes



Image sources: https://unsplash.com/@turbomauze
Xavieralopez (giphy.com)
Jmckeehen (giphy.com)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78