Same Love (Original Poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago

same love cover 2 (2).png

My daughter didn't know
if she should hate me
Imagine the confusion that she felt
thinking that she had to save me
From my sin, from myself
From my rebellion from God
At only twelve
She tried to spare me from hell
that she'd been taught
I'd endure for loving girls
For nothing more than loving girls
Such a silly sin, a million
Worse things I could be doing
Than having feelings for the wrong sex
A simple love so complex
When taken out of context
You find danger in the harmless
but I'm completely harmless
Bearing nothing but the love
that I hold for her mom
Just a girl who loves a girl
Because love is never wrong
Trying to find a way to say
Exactly what is going on
She doesn't know the ghosts she's resurrected
or how quickly hate can spread
once somebody's been infected
She's breaking down the armor
of a heart barely protected
I'm fighting all my demons to
maintain the love I'm clinging to

And I can't change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
She keeps me warm

I can't change
and I don't have to
and I wouldn't if I could
and if you really, truly stood
for the faith that you defended
then it's grace that you would lend
Instead of hate me for my sin
because it's hating who I am
Distorted definitions
'Cause love was only love
until you made me second guess it
It was never really wrong
until you told me to confess it
I Swallowed all my pride
just so I could gain acceptance
I prayed for validation, waiting impatient
for some type of transformation
Single sided conversations left me jaded
so I hated God for hating me
then hated me to honor God
I never even bothered to acknowledge
that I wasn't lost
But I wasn't lost
and I'm not forsaken
and whenever you say differently a heart is breaking
Maybe a life is taken because of one mistaking
Their words for what God is saying
And I'm here just saying
if they don't speak with love
and they don't seek to love
then don't bother paying
attention to them because it's obvious
that we're not even talking ‘bout the same love

And I can’t change
Even if I tried
Even if I wanted to
She keeps me warm

We won't change
We're not defective
We're not the isle of misfit toys
our Creator has rejected
We're not inbred with sin
We are manifested
from a perfect thought
perfect design
Perfection had us in mind
Now we have to accept it
We are worthy, truly worthy
of the best that love is serving
and if somebody tries to sell you on
some hell that you're deserving
Read these words again
to make sure you really heard me
Don't change
you're not defective
you're not a misfit toy
you haven't been rejected
you're not inbred with sin
You are manifested
You are love
and love is perfection

Copyright P2M Publications 2018


The "Same Love" literary cover was inspired by the identically named Macklemore and Ryan Lewis song (I still have to keep myself from crying when I hear that song).

It is the mission of P2M Publications to create, inspire and inform. It is my personal mission to express unconditional, unrelenting love.

May this poem hit every aim!


Sort:  

Like you say love is never wrong! Don't be to worrie one day she will understand that 😊

Thankfully, she understands now. Love is an amazing healer in all relationships.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03