#poemoftheday: Dream friend; Hermits [2 ballads] (original)

in #poetry8 years ago

This is a long one, so let me introduce my daily post properly

Besides, it's always better with an antecedent...
[September 9th, 2016]
18 days...
Imgur


I hand drew this logo (eggs on toast) many years ago, and am happy to release it for the first time...


Today I feel spoiled. I was honored enough to be mentioned by @prufarchy for my poetry. Thank you for fulfilling my existence. :-) It brings me joy to share my work, and to have someone else appreciate it, as I'm sure you all feel the same way about your passions, too. So, for that I thank you. Cheers! The bear-child is off to his Dad's for the weekend, and I am enjoying my high cbd oil vape while posting this [In Oregon]. mmmmmmmmmm. It's the little things. If you haven't noticed, I'm into the little things. I like to savor the moment. I cherish these little things in life. They ground me. Taking a moment to stop, and recognize how great life is around me right now, is spiritual. Life demands it. It is a discipline to acknowledge "the little things".

As a child, I grew up very rural. We lived in the high desert, in a 100 mile-long valley, known as Surprise. Surprise, there's nothing there, lol. Except Burning Man, of course. My town was the last stop for gas, for 50 miles, before heading out into the Black Rock desert. Sometimes all I had were my dreams to keep me company. I was an only child until age 5 1/2, and even then, it took my little sister and brother years before they were old enough to give me a hard time! ;-) It felt like I was an only child, developmentally, anyways. And so, I had imaginary friends. And perhaps I can understand how a person would want to be a hermit...

And yes, I seem to have a common theme going on: thoughts. I stopped myself from posting my first choice, which is a poem called "Thoughts" (and is all about thoughts). But, as I glance over, I see that this poem opens on the idea as well. :D ;-) OMG, if I concentrate, this will be my 100th post, too!!! :D Okay, got distracted! ;-) 101rst...okay 102nd, lol


Dream Friend

[Original Poem by Robyn Eggs]

(Oh, and it could be a ballad, too)

Part I - The dream

All that is left are my thoughts

Locked and bound together

Forever entwined

That is, if you want them to be so

Swirling away like bubbles in the wind

And from the gutter your kind creeps

Thrusting black trees where you were spawned

The wind of this evening, cold like our hearts

All your defects along with the swollen purple

Of your body, which I hold now, is cold

I warm you; melt you like candy

Dreams of drowning recover...

Know me like no other-

When I am crying and weak

You will comfort me

You will complete me

The dream cries as we depart

Remember it with a smile

Lovely is the face I will remember

Never think unknown thoughts of me

Wake up to me, dream friend

Part II - The wake up

There you were last night

Abscure, peaceful

At least that is how you looked through the mirror

Through the mirror to the end of the bar

That is how you looked at me

Absconding, rivaled...

What I am feeling is relenting and so self-fulfilling-

So what if my poetry is mediocre

It applies

Part III - Becoming the dream

The universe is inside my throat

Drink me down

The sky is falling down my throat

Keep on calling

Forceps to hold my tongue

The damage will be undone

And soon I will fall down

Soon, I will become

What is there left to see, with our eyes, but mediocrity

What is perfect but the hypocrisy

The obscurity

The dream...

Part IV - Down the road

The night sky is at the end of my bottle

I can see it obscured by the glass

I am thinking of times past

Who was the one I loved?

Have they yet to be erased?

Can I forgive them?

Can I justify their case?

I do not think so, for that time has been erased

They walk along

I drift off in song

Down the road, we meet up

Why have I not thrown up

My mind is in the air

And I can hear the whispers of their hair

Sinful is the sound

Touching the ground, I bend over them

Part V - The obscurity

Is that my mind looking back at me?

Is this the other side of the looking lgass

Have I gone mad, or just sighed, at last?

A deep sigh

A placid view of what's outside

And a quiet lullaby

To theme the things gone by

Part VI - The howling and the moon

I will howl until the moon comes down

I can feel my skin burning tonight

The intense heat of the day

Has completely taken over me now

And I howl

Where have I been?

And where am I now?

Deep inside of me

There roars the sea

On and on, and on it roars

It roars like the smashing of oars

And as it pulls at my skin

I begin to sink again

My body heat intensifies

The moon goes down with my body

I am drifting away from the surface

As I drown in the howling and disgrace

I howled until the moon came down

They are never going to take that away

Take it out or away, that day

They will not take you away, my dead dream friend

@robyneggs


Yes, I would love it. If someone wants to illustrate this, just let me know :-O


Hermits

[Original Poem by Robyn Eggs]

(Oh, and it could be a ballad, too)

I am sore all over

My body can not handle

And joyous snowtops

Where I am a hermit

Smooth me out like

Unraveling a Russian carpet

Beautiful colors

Then the hermit sings

And by the sea

We will sit down to tea

The mountains

Where I am alone

My body can not handle it

Building clouds

And little work

Yet I am sore

Seashells of mountains

In the mists they rise

Down float clouds to

Collect the sea

And the hermits

Imgur

Photo Credit

A picnic in the sky

Looking over the town

I will spread the blanket, up high

So I do not drown

In the sea of fake people

The clouds wash up

As we sit over the peopled lake

And here we will sup

Conversation up above

Talk of politics and and of bicycling

Talk of the weather, and of love

Our watermelon and thoughts mingling

Soon the clouds will calm down

And I will float back down, below

And hope the town

Of fake people will not know

@robyneggs


Look for more poems of the day

Brought to you by Robyn Eggs and Toast


Imgur

Photo Credit: NebCat (September, 2016)

Thank you @nebcat for my amazing and legit new author pic!! :D


Robyn Eggs Storefront

FB

Sort:  

Wow this is amazing, @robyneggs. love the pic! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44