"At Harrison's" (original poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

image

Boys shooting hoops
City scapes
Took root
In thin slates
Unbeknownst to juice
Who asked me for
A nice suit
And yet I refused.
The skating and the loops
Proved too much for me
To scoop
And I lost my time
In the chutes
Caught up trying
To secure that loot

It's true what they say
That yesterday
I lost what I saw
Along the way

Dropping balls
Says the 88MM
Last time I checked
It was just 88M
But that what they told me
When I called in to give likes
Just like it was only Mike
But Mike gave me the Mic
And told me to spike the ball
But I put it through the hoop
Just like a bag full of loot

image

All the boys disappeared
Out the door
Left to no one
I ask if this is real
And he said yes,
It's surreal
And he's looking at me
To see
If I'll take the bait
And I wait

His lack of knowledge
His lack of calling
He leaves me balling
Like a star, fallen

I gaze at his shirt
He tells me about
His work
Mercy plays in the background
And I am reminded of Dumb and Dumber
At least just the track of the sound
R's roll and I see the balls drop
Again
Out the pool table to my left
The bar ignites in a similar light
Just l ike one lost to the eaves
Can't you see?
I have a plight

A plight for you to see
To wonder
At me....
And he probably has a
Big piece
To pull off
Like chunks
Of what
Sunk
The basketball game
Is something thunk
So don't wonder
At Harrison's luck
Drunk writing in the bar
Train shots
Not very far
Just a walk
A hair
A stroll
For the cock

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61702.75
ETH 2485.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65