"A Fish and a Boy" (original poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image

There was a beautiful boy
Who talked about a fish
I saw the biggest sucker
On a tank, giving a kiss
When he skated up

I told the blonde boy
About my dream last night
In which there were two fish
One beautiful, in the light
Full colors of the rainbow

In the dream, the sucker
Lay, near dead, on the table
I picked him up, tossed him in
To join the beautiful fish of fable
But, oh what happened next

Then, a terrible thing happened
The sucker began sucking
Not just the tank wall
It sucked up the fucking
Fish, in two seconds flat!

The boy told me a story
Of how the tank used to be
His former friend's
Who was now dead, as can be
What to do with this and the dream?

Will I meet the boy again?
What does the dream mean?
The fish, it would seem
May represent me or another being...
But it's all in what you see...

By Robyn Eggs
Copyright February 19th, 2018

Sort:  

All a mystery present in his poem.
Very interesting dream, @robyneggs.

The metaphors are many. The beautiful fish getting sucked up. The fact I threw the sucker in when it was near dead...maybe it should have been left to die? Maybe I should have never picked its suspicious self up off that table. The random skater telling me the tanks story. And how had I not run into the tank before? Was it new? Suddenly the sucker fish was real and saying hi to me while another human came by to verify it's reality....
Cheers!

It is a great content. Those things that we can not decipher, but one day the time comes and you have the answer.
Happy day.

So many levels to analyze! Do you think maybe the sucker fish could be how death or the death of loved ones can consume us?

yes, that could be it too! death consumption....what a fixation :-O Thanks so much for commenting, and welcome to the platform!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77