The Reason Why: Poem of the Day

in #poetry6 years ago

Here is a free-form poem I wrote to help understand happiness. I write to sort out my feelings on a subject, and one that comes up quite often is “What will make me happy, and when”.

The Reason Why

I spend so much of my time
trying to find the reason why:
Why I live,
Why I cry
Why I hope
and sing
and grow

It takes most of my life.
And I still can’t find the reason why

“Hold on just a little longer
It will all be alright”
Yeah Right
When will I be alright?

It’s harder than it seems,
But I realize that I think too much.
Ignorance is bliss.

I worry about everyone,
and everything
Caring more about their happiness
Than my own well being.

And I worry about the future
But that should be the past
I need to be in the present,
Or my happiness will not last.

I will learn and grow but
It may be slow

But today I am me, I am how I will be,
And TODAY I will be happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56