A Poem – When I was a Child

in #poetry7 years ago

I had.jpg

Did we mean to hurt each other?
Is that what it means to be a lover?
We said we could love no other

Did you know sometimes I’m mad?
Did you know sometimes I’m sad?
We were animals playing divinity
Believing in infinity

Rolling down that grassy hill
Holding each other till we got our fill

I don’t think I gave you permission
But as you walked away to took my heart
Lost out of time
Love was always the joke
But I began to run
And I never took a rest
Listening for a heartbeat
As I clutched my chest
And I miss your kiss and the way that you smiled
But now I’m dead inside
Running down that big blue sky
I never stopped running

Do you think it hurt me?
Do you think I feel?
As you walked away I grasped
Clutching for anything
But all I got was a piece of you

When I was a child I had a full heart


@RiskDebonair
Irish Writer, Poet, & Lover

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50