A Poem - I Will (Finished this yesterday after 12 years) ^_^

in #poetry8 years ago

I Will.jpg

Hold my hand before you sink and drown
Mould your land before you settle down
Light the sky before you gleam
Smite the lie before you dream
Care for your heart before you break it
Bare your art before you make it

These are the sessions we make in life
These are the lessons we take in strife

Be born anew, forty thousand times
Never growing old or getting wise
Never growing cold into something you despise

These are the memories we soon forget
A modest hello the first day we met

Always moving backward with thoughts of the past
All days rolling forward with things getting fast

Down to our running shoes we tie our laces
I could never finish this poem
Maybe someday I will

12 Years Later

Down to our running shoes we tie our laces
Getting ready for the rat races

Never forget who you were
Whatever in life you've had to bear
Passion still lies behind your disguise
Open your eyes and let it rise
Embrace laughter and a lot of love
Before you chase after whatever you thought of

Take your time and take a breath
Break the paradigm before your death

Motivate yourself to realise
That after all this time
You still see with real eyes
Never growing old or getting wise
Never growing cold into something you despise

These are the memories we soon forget
A brief goodbye the last day we met

Always moving backward with thoughts of the past
All days rolling forward with things getting fast

Down to our running shoes we tie our laces
Getting ready for the rat races
Lost in our workplaces
We’re quick to forget our faces
So mend your heart before it shatters
And defend your art because it matters


@RiskDebonair
Irish, Writer, & Poet

I've been digitizing old works, and stumbled across this old poem that I could never finish.

Sort:  

I grand jouney. Thank you for sharing it.

Thanks! I came back to it many times, but struggled to finish it.
The line "Down to our running shoes we tie our laces" threw me off when I first wrote it, but I couldn't bring myself to remove the line.

Definitely intriguing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54