A Poem: Death of a Romantic

in #poetry8 years ago

Image0059[1].jpg

All that armour weighed him down
But it was nothing compared to the weight of the world
The winds of change always blew
Like a leaf falling from a tree
His death was a bittersweet symphony
She removed his armour
Touched his chest
And he felt for the first time
Free from the armour that had protected him
She plunged the blade
Red was the colour of his passion
His life
His death
After awaking he placed the armour back on
A walking corpse in an invulnerable outershell
Unable to tell the difference between right and wrong


@RiskDebonair
Irish Writer, Poet, & Lover

Sort:  

Now that's a sad and well put poem about broken trust and its consequences.
Thank you for sharing

Very thought provoking. Love and the passion of love is a common theme for you.

Many years ago I decided to gather my poems together into different themes. I realised that almost all were about love.

Do you think men are more idealistic towards love?

I have no idea. I would have to take a global survey and explore cultural, biological, and genetic influences across various demographs. I'm a very idealistic person, but also believe that once you start striving for perfection in something, perfection becomes unattainable. But concurrently despite this that idealism should always be pursued for the sake of virtue and overcoming the self through taking on tasks too large and too impossible to realistically accomplish.
If you aim for the stars and fall short of your target, maybe you'll have made it to the moon 😊

Nice Poem.. I heard @sirlunchthehost read this live on @votu podcast. Thanks for sharing your talent w/ the community!

I'm up for more poetry reading. I'd like to hear the author reading! :-)

Waow thanks! ^_^ I'll give it a listen. ?How do I do that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65