A Poem: Blinded by the TV

in #poetry8 years ago

I’m looking for something to get offended at
Something small
Something trivial
Something I can blow out of proportion
Something to distract me from what I really should be angered by
That which is right in front of me
Which I pretend not to see
I go through so much mental acrobatics
To consolidate my world which is a shared delusion
I have no culture
I have no generation
I have no country
But I pretend like everyone else
So I don’t feel mad
Like I’m out of my mind for knowing that
Everyone is out of their minds on what they’ve been told
False constructed realities
False faces
Hidden selves
Fake lives
Basing our roles in reality from what we’ve seen on television
A pretence of importance
For that which is not
Obliteration by incorporation
Of Social constructionism
Victory for the cult of anti-intellectualism
Deluded and diluted perception become fact
The consensus reality
To pretend not to see
Blinded by the TV

@RiskDebonair

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56