Love that Got Away

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Couple-break-up.jpg
image from google

In Retrospect,
We spend days
On the glimmering shallows
On the end of the river.
You tried catching small fish
With a makeshift trap and twigs
The fish would get away,
The trap too fragile,
The fish too slippery,
You being too slow,
I laugh and you tell me off.

I climb the branches and jump in the water
Not fearing the stones underneath,
Nor the violent rush of the current.
I trusted the shallow waters.
You climb a rock to sit beside me,
You etch your name on my skin,
Flaking white, through the burnt canvas,
Then you swam away,
Your master needs his goat tended.

Going through the mirror,
I look at my canvass,
No longer burnt in days under the yellow globe
Searching for marks you left months before;
But like it you have disappeared.
A fish that slipped away,
Broken through my fragile traps,
Living only a gap.

xoxo,

@jhoanna

Sort:  

Congratulations human. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot poetry curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-15

Such a fantastic poem full of rich imagery. There's a typo at the end of the first stanza: lough, where it should be laugh.

Thank you @Damianjayclay.

You're welcome. Honestly it was a joy to find.

I'm a senior editor at The Writers' Block discord group where we help one another work on our writing. Would love for you to come and join us.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Accepted. Thank you!

omg that TOTGA feeling lols :D

This post has received a 3.75 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @richkid123.

Wow. Seldom have I found work of this distinct quality. Perhaps I'm biased when it comes to comparing nature to the distinctly human, but I love this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59