"Car onques ne vîtes homme qui eût plus grande affection d'être roi et riche que moi" - meditation on a line by Rabalais

in #poetry7 years ago

Were it not for that arsehole @bollinbroke
All would still hang on every word I spoke,
Laugh emsemble at every tiny joke,
And each small acorn would become an oak.

Then beneath the shade of my mighty thought
All men would find the wisdom that they sought,
Bequeathing all the riches they had brought,
Had not @bollinbroke set it all to naught.

I can but sing again my dreadful plight,
The anger that consumes me day and night,
When he does not value all I write
Nor see the worth of philosophy-lite.

All I seek is justice and what is mine,
My just and rightful payout, paid per line,
To so allow my intellect to shine,
My words to slowly educate these swine.

But one thing more has clipped my Muse's wing,
One thing that has the most ferocious sting,
Is that after all the wealth that I bring,
It is I should be the only King.


Image of Richard II by an unknown artist at Wikimedia.

eyes8a60c.th.jpg

Thank you for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50