And I remember - original poetry

in #poetry8 years ago

After work, just out onto Whittington Road,
Revolution blasts out on the radio,
The power chords, John Lennon screaming,
And I remember ...


I remember dissolution with my teachers
       and an aversion to statistics;


I remember an oil shortage caused by a tanker-driver's strike,
having to be at home for a winter lambing:
I changed my degree course from Biochemistry to Agriculture;


I remember quoting Keats in my finals and nearly failing them;


I remember cycling in darkness
       over wet and windy hills
to meditation groups in Oswestry;


I remember smoking half a cigar under an oak tree, late one evening,
wondering what satisfaction was, searching for something else,
the something else;


I remember laughing crazy
       at the black pipe
       up the side of the house
which carried away the smell of the drains;


And I remember, like only yesterday, the magic of the wall of fog halfway down the valley,
       as I drove into town,
the magic of the warmer weather
and the light after the bleak weeks of midwinter;


What I don't remember is:
the first time I was astounded by the beauty of every day things and people,
the first time when words seemed inadequate
and silence and inactivity sufficient.


remember1726ad.jpg


Thank you for reading @richardjuckes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41