12 Hours

in #poetry7 years ago

Hey Steemit,

I was bored and thinking about what I did this summer, and I realized that I could have been more productive. 

No this poem isn't about me, I just felt like writing something about someone who did nothing all summer in the spirit of move-in month for college. Enjoy!

Image Source
---

12 Hours

You finally wake up late in the day
To shield your eyes from the sun's burning rays
You tumble from bed and sit at your computer
And start to watch a random YouTuber

Breakfast at noon; lunch is at four
Your dad calls for dinner but you locked your door
Your food gets cold and your parents ticked off
They tell you you're lazy and you've gotten soft.

An entire summer gone, with nothing to show
for anything to leave the house you said no
Ignored your friends, became a hermit
partially due to not having your permit

Even then you could have easily gone
to complete your exam and your license have won
To the movies or dinner you could have went
and time with your friends you could have spent

But instead you chose to live a solitary life
complaining inside about your miserable strife
Wanting the world to move when only you said 'turn'
Yet throughout three months there is nothing you've learned.

Now back to college and classes to take
Knowing full well you've wasted your break
Perhaps the next one will find you productive
Instead of complaining and being self-destructive

---

Sort:  

Hahaha that's great.
Life is the same even when you have your license.
I bet you saved a lot of money though xD

Yeah, while I have my license, I don't have car insurance... so basically the same thing haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81