You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BAD POETRY IS TAKING OVER STEEMIT

in #poetry7 years ago

I must say that I agree. I have seen some truly horrible poems on here, usually they look as if the person just spit it on the page, sort of like:
Rage
Sitting alone
Agony
For you
I long
And wait
In my room
Shivering

Okay that was a made up example but not far from what I'm talking about. I'll never put someone's writing down or even critique it. I'm no professional. I have two poems on here. One was for a poetry dice contest so it was just a quick write for fun, and the other is one I wrote years ago and thought it was nice enough to share, but not so close to my heart that I would be devastated if someone ripped it off. I feel so bad though that I can't bring myself to upvote when I find a blogger's poetry really awful. I don't feel being phony nice is doing them any favors. I will say to each their own, but I definitely know what you mean.

Sort:  

I laughed out loud. You captured it.. and.. frankly? If you posted that you'd probably get a decent amount of upvotes! That's your ticket right there.

I'm not really interested in critiquing specific poems either; very few people do well in response to unsolicited criticism. I'm just hoping to open up a conversation so more people can be more evaluative about what they support, and more intentional about seeking out the good quality posts.

Don't upvote the dross! I'm with you in it--I won't be unkind, but I won't ever let myself upvote something I think is terrible. It's not right somehow.

Also.. gonna follow because I want to try to build a bit of a community of serious writers and thinkers on here. Xx, Kay

Thanks! Following you too. I like that we're brave enough to speak your mind.

Holy shite @renodakota, that poem in RAD! ahahaha... see, just goes to prove a point too. ;)

Lol! Thanks! I mean, if you're just starting, I'll give it a pass but....

That's a good policy. I always find if I can't get past two lines that's probably not a good sign.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66593.69
ETH 3319.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71