Spoken Word Piece "Blood Stained History"

in #poetry7 years ago

Remedy_Gear_A.pngThis piece is influenced by my readings into World War 2 as well as my travels around Cambodia. I always had a fascination with trying to understand the psyche of people during times of war. To this day I still find it hard to fully comprehend the atrocities committed by the likes of Nazis and the Khmer Rouge regime under Pol Pot.

BLOOD STAINED HISTORY

I met a man back in 33
Said he could resurrect a nation
He lived for his kind to be free
But he hid a final solution
Started off with Mein Kampf
With the struggle, ended up in death camps
Trains coming to its very last stop now
Trains coming to its very last stop

That's the blood stained history
That's the blood stained history
The fear, the death, the misery
Another page in that blood stained history

I met a man back in 65
Said he had a new way to survive
Passed a vision throughout politics
To live free of all the foreign influence
Funny how things change
As they trudge through the heavy mud in the rain
Chains jangle all the way to the killing fields
Chains jangle all the way to the end

That's the blood stained history
That's the blood stained history
The fear, the death, the misery
Another page in that blood stained history

Sort:  

That really hit me for some reason, like I dont know if it was the repeating of "thats the blood stained history" or if the magnitude of what you were talking about hit me, but I felt something, keep on writing man!

I really appreciate your feedback. Thanks for reading !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43