BARBARUS HIC EGO SUM, QUIA NON INTELLIGOR ILLIS

in #poetry7 years ago

poppies.jpg
I am angry when they debate history.
I hate it when they talk of peace.
I talk of glory when they mention meat.
I talk of sacrifice as they talk of truth.
I say remember them; they say never the horror again.
I talk of pride and they cry with the shame.
I raise my voice in a demand for respect, they say for whom.
I talk of defence, protection, they say of what.
I say they started it and they say when did ‘it’ begin.
I talk of duty; they ask where does it lie.
I venerate the majesty; they criticise the gluttony.
I lament the cost while they depict an industry.
I believe in the past and they look for change.
I accuse for country and for nation.
They say no, for people, earth and patience.
Yet,
We should all remember these dead;
especially, at the rising of the sun,
because their names are ordinary labels,
signifying gone…

ADVENA SUM IN PATRIA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62