You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ozymandias - a poem

in #poetry7 years ago

I love the first verse @whoshim

At twenty, he stared
into the eyes of a tiger,
old and tired. Uncaring,
he hung it in his hunting hall.

I have been drawn to tigers in my imagination since an early age and often dream of them. So the imagery in your poem struck me quite profoundly. I like the way that it starts with this hunters act of destruction and ends with his final decline of old age. Ha ha, but maybe that's just me ;-) I feel more pity for the tiger than the guy in the poem

Sort:  

Thanks! I tried to make the man more sympathetic after the opening stanza, but I guess it didn't work for you. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65