You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ring

in #poetry7 years ago

Fantastic poetry @geekorner and (epic is definitely the word)at 158 lines it's the poem that just keeps on giving 😉

But seriously, I love the imegery and the use of poetic devices in this piece. Particularly, the personification of animals to show the journey/feelings of the poet-

From the dark depths I rise,
I am seeking,
I am searching,
for a sound,
for a hint of light.
A hollow roar,
as I seek to draw breath,
I surge higher,
breaking the waves.

Really nice!

Sort:  

<3 Thank you for all the kind words and support Raj!

And hey, it's the poem that kept on making me sweat as I wrote another line and another line :'D

And yeah, somehow I knew I needed the animal imagery. I don't even know where the idea came from, but it just seemed right, you know? Maybe it's when I thought of how I have so much to say, and thus wish to break the piece down into segments, while still making it all feel cohesive. I am not sure how writing one singular piece that does not "transform" midway for me would look like. I'm not nearly good enough for that yet.

And yes, it seems strong and vivid imagery may be one of my stronger suits as a poet :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14