bewildered beast

in #poetry6 years ago

i got out of a car
into the rain
down a driveway
to a door
and all i saw
was my house
and i walked inside
noticed pictures of me
and a wife
i couldn't tell
where or when
it all just seemed so weird to me
so i went out back
saw a dog
a clothes line
i walked to a fence and couldn't remember
my name
then i found myself at work
holding a briefcase and a tie
round my neck was a life
i didn't know
how to do my job
they stared at me
wondering
what's got into him?
said i was mad
but i just couldn't understand
why i had to work
for a three bedroom home
and a clothes line
why i had to sit
in front of a tv every night
mow the lawn
feed the dog
worry about the mortgage
and who i was
under all this paper
all this stuff
that wasn't me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49