"Field Notes on Beginning" - A Beautiful Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

654321644.jpg

"Field Notes on Beginning"

I love poetry and I found this beautiful poetry by searching on web and thought to share this with all poetry lovers on steemit.


1.

I wear my grandmother’s bones like a housedress through the city.
Some nights the block tells me all its problems.
I’ll meet you at the top of the biggest rock in Rolesville
or on train headed to a reading in Queens, just tell me where. I promise
to gather your bones only for good.
I was not swallowed by the darkness between two buildings.
I don’t want to die in the south like so many of mine. I want to be carried back.

2.

I dreamed we were digging in a field in Rolesville
looking for an earth we knew the name of.
You stepped into the hole, looked behind you and gestured me in.
I saw every lover who held you while your children slept
in rooms of small heaters, you wrap the blankets so tight,
afraid of any cold that might get in.

3.

I said my goodbyes, my dead will not come. I will not see a cardinal in the city
so I drew one on my chest. A coop inside a coop inside of me.
Leaving is necessary some say. There is a whole ocean between you and a home
you can’t fix your tongue to speak. Others do not want me
no further than a length of a small yard, they ask where are you going Tyree?
Your mama here, you’ve got stars in your eyes. A ship in your movement.

END


Image Credit
Poetry Credit


Thank you to read, With love from @radhikapatel


Sort:  

worth reading nice work there ....upvoted

You got a 3.91% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @radhikapatel!

You got a 0.95% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @radhikapatel!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 2.53% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @radhikapatel!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Submarine.png

Source:
https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/field-notes-beginning

Edit history can be found by entering this post’s link here:
https://phist.steemdata.com/

If this content is your own, please provide proof in the form of mutual linkbacks.

If you are unsure about what's legal, this link has great information: https://www.checkforplagiarism.net/plagiarism-law.
Although US focused, the rules around copyright and the damage that can be done to your reputation are very similar in most countries. It is additionally scorned in the Steem sea and is a flaggable offense.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.52% vote... I was summoned by @radhikapatel! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58