You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shall I Compare You to a Charging Rhino , Not a Valentines Day Poem

in #poetry6 years ago

@prydefoltz,

Pryde, that's a really good poem. I normally prefer very structured meter and rhyme scheme, but I have to say your poem flows very nicely.

You, on the other hand ... a rhino, huh? You really know how to get the guys. Give them a visual image they'll never forget. And putting Socrates in a dress ... no respect.

In any event, great job and have a Happy Valentines Day.

Sort:  

LOL ... I do have few poems that don't get so wild into meter ... somewhere ... I am pretty sure I counted syllables on this one and paid attention to stress but from the point of view of making it flow and not fit too neatly ... if that makes sense. I call this a stilted or syncopated rhyme. Sometimes I will use internal rhymes and full stops to stitch together mis-matched structure. Yeah ... its a quilted verse. This approach grants more creativity in word choice. But you have to sit with things, and it can take a long time to make it work. Did you have a chance to listen to the spoken word ... sometimes the reasoning in my madness is revealed there. And as a poet I always reserve the right to exhibit license:) As a poet, I have a license to make mistakes ... lol:)

On your other points ...:):):)

To be clear ... the bloke in question did not say I looked like a rhino. Just when I was mad, it was like being charged by a rhino ... fortunately this rhino always avoided impact:)

And socrates wore a toga or some kind of dress ... no doubt about that ... trousers were a long way off:):):) It might have been skirt:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58805.73
ETH 2642.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45